ITS Australia names the shortlisted finalists for its 2017 National ITS Awards


ITS Australia has revealed the 15 nominations for its five 2017 National Awards, with the winners to be announced at a special event in Melbourne, Victoria, on November 23.

In their eighth year, the ITS Australia National Awards recognize high level individual and team achievement and are an opportunity to celebrate innovation and reward excellence. ITS Australia said the increasing strength of the country’s intelligent transport systems (ITS) industry has been reflected in a record number of nominations for this year’s awards.

The judging panel, comprising ITS leaders, considered nearly twice as many submissions across all categories, compared to 2016.

The 2017 ITS Australia National Awards shortlisted finalists are:

Industry Award

• Aldridge Traffic Controllers – ATSC4 Traffic Signal Controller with VC6.1 TRAFF and HRS Software;

• CEOS – Integrated Infra-Red Traffic Logger (TIRTL) and HAREcam systems;

• Cubic Transportation Systems – Manly Ferry Contactless Payments Trial.

Government Award

• Queensland Department of Transport and Main Roads – Next Generation Traffic and Travel Information project (QLDTraffic);

• Transport for New South Wales – Public Transport Information and Priority System (PTIPS);

• VicRoads – MyRo – A Smart Workzone System.

Automated Vehicle Award (sponsored by the Australian and New Zealand Driverless Vehicle Initiative – ADVI)

• Bosch Australia – Bosch Highly Automated Driving (HAD) vehicle;

• EasyMile – EZ10 electric driverless shuttle for first-/last-mile journeys;

• Royal Automobile Club of Western Australia – Learnings from the RAC Automated Vehicle Trial Project Description.

Research Award

• Monash University – DynaMel: A Large-Scale Dynamic Traffic Assignment Model of Melbourne;

• Monash University – Driverless vehicles, ethics, and the future of transport research;

• The University of Melbourne – The Australian Integrated Multi-modal Ecosystem (AIMES).

Young Professional Award

• James Donovan – A graduate engineer at Metro Trains Melbourne;

• Tao Wen – A research scientist with Data61 CSIRO;

• Timothy Phillips – Employed by Egis as maintenance engineer at Legacy Way Tunnel.

“Nationwide, Australia is developing and deploying ITS initiatives to benefit communities. This year’s shortlist includes nearly every Australian state,” noted ITS Australia’s Awards Committee chair, Gino Dompietro.

“This positively reflects Australia’s capability to host local and international trials and pilots, and shows that governments, industry and researchers, across the country, are striving for better transport solutions. Congratulations to all our shortlisted finalists.”

ITS Australia’s chief executive, Susan Harris, added, “The increased number of submissions for the Young Professional Award, in particular, is encouraging. The increased competition for this award is a clear sign of industry investment in young people.”


About Author


Tom has edited Traffic Technology International magazine and the Traffic Technology Today website since he joined the company in May 2014. Prior to this he worked on some of the UK's leading consumer magazine titles including Men's Health and Glamour, beginning his career in journalism in 1997 after graduating with a law degree from the London School of Economics (LSE).

Comments are closed.