CFM announces new commissioners and areas of research


The Commission on the Future of Mobility (CFM), a project of SAFE and a coalition of business, technology and policy leaders, has announced new commissioners, along with five primary research focus areas.

Former chair of the California Air Resources Board (CARB), Mary Nichols, has been named co-chair of CFM. She joins Jim Farley, president and chief executive officer of Ford Motor Company, who assumed his co-chair role in late 2020, replacing Jim Hackett. Both Mary Nichols and Jim Farley are proven leaders at striking the balance between transformational growth and environmental sustainability.

In addition to Mary Nichols and Jim Farley’s appointments, CFM has added several additional commissioners to its roster. These leaders in global mobility include:

  • Bhavish Aggarwal, Chairman and Group CEO of Ola Cabs;
  • Jacques Aschenbroich, Chairman and CEO of Valeo, Inc.;
  • Jacqueline Hunt, Member of the Allianz SE Board of Management;
  • Craig Jasienski, President and CEO at Wallenius Wilhelmsen;
  • Carl Pope, Principal at Inside Straight Strategies; and
  • Avinash Rugoobur, President of Arrival, LTD.

Five key focus areas to drive global mobility transformation

CFM commissioners aligned on the following five focus areas to address the global mobility gap:

  1. Energy Resources: Sustaining the shift towards alternative energy resources, including electrification and hydrogen, to reduce transportation’s impact on climate change.
  2. Freight: Addressing supply chain fragmentation and the impact of consumer preferences on emissions, technology and access.
  3. Data Stewardship: Leveraging data thoughtfully to power connected mobility.
  4. Infrastructure: Replacing legacy infrastructure with new approaches designed for emerging trends and models enabled by technology.
  5. Passenger Transportation: Evaluating the impact new technologies, business models and approaches to mobility have created for passenger transportation.

CFM will lead select public events that complement and inform the Commission’s work and allow the Commission to grow the audience for its eventual advocacy. Research and advocacy across America, Europe and Asia will be completed on a quarterly basis, with energy resources as CFM’s first focus area.

“Global transportation policy and infrastructure has not kept pace with societal, economic and technological change and this has created a mobility opportunity gap,” said Alisyn Malek, executive director, the Commission on the Future of Mobility. “With our new commissioners in place and an aligned focus, we are in a position to streamline, strengthen and modernize policies to address this gap with an urgent systemic policy focus on issues of energy transition, climate change, health, safety, security and economic opportunity.”

Share this story:

About Author


Saul Wordsworth is editor-at-large of Traffic Technology International (TTi), and presenter and producer of the TTi Podcast. He is an author and keen cyclist, and lives in north London.