Jury selects 15 nominees for the 2018 Intertraffic Amsterdam Innovation Awards


An international jury of transportation experts has announced the final shortlist of nominees for the prestigious Intertraffic Amsterdam Innovation Awards, which will be presented at the opening ceremony of the event in March.

After careful analysis and intense consideration, the expert panel has narrowed down the field from well over 60 high-quality entries to the final 15, leaving three nominees in each of the five categories: Infrastructure, Traffic Management, Safety, Parking, and Smart Mobility.

Each nominee is now in the running to potentially win their category, and just one of those winners will ultimately be chosen as this year’s overall award winner. The final winners will be announced at the opening ceremony of Intertraffic Amsterdam, the world’s largest trade event for the infrastructure, traffic management, safety, parking and smart mobility sectors, which is taking place in the Netherlands on March 20-23, at RAI Amsterdam. 

The shortlisted companies for each category are:

Infrastructure –

• FlexyLight Bollard by Saedi (Italy);

• Asura Recognition Unit by Asura (Hungary);

• OptiWIM by Cross Zlín (Czech Republic).

Parking –

• Self-powered Parking Sensor by ParkHere (Germany);

• The Urban Mobility Control Management Hub (Paris) by ParkNow, Parkmobile Group (Germany);

• Imapark by Sernis Technologic Solutions (Portugal).

Traffic Management –

• Sprinx Traffic AID by Sprinx Technologies (Italy);

• CITIX 3D by Eco-Counter (Canada);

• Signs to Lines TRO Mapping by AppyParking (UK).

Safety –

• TrafficCam3D by Viion Systems (Canada);

• SR-90 by Sernis Tecnologic Solutions (Portugal);

• SpeedWatch+ by Traffic Technology Ltd (UK).

Smart Mobility –

• On-Street Parking Info (OSPI) by ParkNow (Germany);

• CrossCycle by Dynniq (Netherlands);

• Find&Pay by EasyPark Group (Sweden).

The Intertraffic Awards jury comprises: Dr Peter van der Knaap (Chairman of the Jury), managing director of the SWOV Institute for Road Safety Research; Adam Hill, editor of ITS International, Route One Publishing Ltd; Jorrit Weerman, CEO of Parking Network; Tom Stone, editor of Traffic Technology International, UKi Media & Events Ltd; and Dr Ben Rutten, program manager for strategic area smart mobility at the Eindhoven University of Technology.

“The trend for increasingly multifunctional systems was evident in the strongest entries in the Traffic Management category,” commented Tom Stone, juror and editor of Traffic Technology International magazine.

“Whereas in the past multiple devices were required – each performing a single function. Now smarter hardware is being built that can perform multiple tasks; and smart software is being developed to turn simple cameras into advanced systems.” 

Juror Rutten noted, “This year we had fewer entries in the smart mobility category compared to previous years. However, it is obvious that we see more smartness in traditional categories, resulting in three nominees with excellent propositions in the field of parking and infrastructure.”

To view details of all the award nominees, go to: https://www.intertraffic.com/amsterdam/innovations/nominees/

Share this story:

About Author


Tom has edited Traffic Technology International (TTi) magazine and its Traffic Technology Today website since May 2014. During his time at the title, he has interviewed some of the top transportation chiefs at public agencies around the world as well as CEOs of leading multinationals and ground-breaking start-ups. Tom's earlier career saw him working on some the UK's leading consumer magazine titles. He has a law degree from the London School of Economics (LSE).