ITS World Congress Hall of Fame Winners announced


Automotive research and development, high speed rail and real-time travel projects have been recognized for their outstanding contribution to intelligent transport systems in the 2016 ITS World Congress Hall of Fame Awards from Asia-Pacific region.

The Asia-Pacific winners will join the previously announced winners from ITS America and ERTICO – ITS Europe, and will be inducted into the 2016 ITS World Congress Hall of Fame, at the 23rd World Congress on Intelligent Transport Systems, which is taking place on October 10-14 in Melbourne, Australia.

Hall of Fame winners make a significant contribution to the ITS industry and are at the forefront of innovative technology solutions to global transport and mobility challenges. The awards recognize individuals, industries and local governments that are striving to set the bar higher and enhance the end user experience.

The 2016 ITS Asia-Pacific, Hall of Fame winners are:

• Lifetime Achievement Award: Dr Hiroyuki Watanabe (below), former chairman of ITS Japan – With more than 40 years in automobile research and development at Toyota, Watanabe was involved in product design projects with innovative technologies, such as electronic stability control, hybrid powertrains, and fuel cell batteries. He presented the concept of integrated approaches of policy, infrastructure, advanced vehicles, participation of the general public, and ITS technologies as an enabler.

• Industry Award: Taiwan High Speed Rail Corporation (THSRC) – The THSRC is the licensed entity with exclusive concession to own and run HSR Taiwan, which has been regarded as the largest build-operate-transfer (BOT) project of public transportation infrastructure in the world. The company has successfully created the Smart Railway Services system, which uses ITS-style technologies for operational efficiency and management, while improving passenger services, particularly in ticketing systems, and providing innovative real-time information.

• Local Government Award: Queensland Department of Transport and Main Roads, Australia – The department’s vision is to create a single integrated transport network that is accessible to everyone. It has deployed a real-time travel information system that: provides accurate service information for public transport stops and stations across the TransLink South East Queensland network, using on-vehicle 3G/GPS technology to track vehicles; and combines timetable data with prediction logic to determine service departure times. The multi-modal service covers numerous local government jurisdictions and over 18 operators.

ITS World Congress Hall of Fame Winners from the Americas region:

• Lifetime Achievement: Kirk Steudle, director of Michigan Department of Transportation.

• Industry: General Motors.

• Local Government: Michigan Department of Transportation.

Hall of Fame Winners from the European region:

• Lifetime Achievement: Professor Eric Sampson, Newcastle University and ERTICO.

• Industry: ASFA – Toll Motorways of France.

• Local Government: City of Olsztyn, Poland.

“As host nation of the 2016 World Congress, and on behalf of ITS Asia-Pacific, many congratulations to this year’s Hall of Fame winners. The ITS industry is competitive and to be nominated and win an award is a wonderful achievement,” said ITS Australia’s CEO, Susan Harris. “We look forward to welcoming the winners from Asia-Pacific, America and Europe to Melbourne, and recognizing their significant contribution to the industry.”

Share this story:

About Author


Tom has edited Traffic Technology International (TTi) magazine and its Traffic Technology Today website since May 2014. During his time at the title, he has interviewed some of the top transportation chiefs at public agencies around the world as well as CEOs of leading multinationals and ground-breaking start-ups. Tom's earlier career saw him working on some the UK's leading consumer magazine titles. He has a law degree from the London School of Economics (LSE).