More than 20 speakers announced for the Autonomous Vehicle Safety Regulation World Congress


There are now over 20 speakers already announced for the Autonomous Vehicle Safety Regulation World Congress in Detroit, US, taking place on October 25-26 2016.

With legal issues and regulatory challenges still the greatest obstacles for the adoption of autonomous vehicle technology, the publishers of Traffic Technology International are delighted to announce the world’s first and only conference dedicated to discussing and debating the necessary regulatory changes required to allow further testing of autonomous vehicle technology, as well as defining a universal set of standards for autonomous vehicle technology manufacturers. As well as this the conference will focus on the potential legal issues facing automotive manufacturers and technology suppliers that will inevitably arise from this new technology. (Image: Continental)

More than 40 speakers will take part in the two day event which takes place in Novi, Detroit, on October 25-26 and so far over 20 speakers have been announced. The first 20 speakers to be confirmed for this unique event include:

California Department of Motor Vehicles

Brian Soublet, deputy director and chief counsel   California Department of Motor Vehicles

Dr Bernard Soriano, deputy director   Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles

Jude Hurin, administrator management services & programs division

  University of Colorado

Don Hunt, senior fellow, Buechner Institute for Governance   Utah Department of Transportation

Carlos Braceras, director   Tennessee Department of Transportation

John Schroer, commissioner

  Southern Nevada Department of Transportation

Tracy Larkin-Thomason, deputy director


Gail Gottehrer, attorney   Emory University School of Law

Katherine Sheriff, legal scholar, Emory Law & Technology Team   Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP

Lisa Gilford, partner

  Huie Fernambucq & Stewart LLP

John Isaac Southerland, partner

  VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland Ltd

Aki Lumiaho, principal scientist

  Intelligent Car Coalition

Catherine McCullough, executive director   Exponent

Dr David Cades, managing scientist

  American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators

Anne Ferro, president & CEO   Michigan Department of Transportation

Collin Castle, connected vehicle specialist   HNTB Corporation

Mr Ananth Prasad, leader transportation practice   Miller Canfield

Mr Brian Westenberg, Leader, Product Safety Group

  Squire Patton Boggs (US) LLP

Mr David Rice, Partner

  AAMVA’s Director of Vehicle Services and lead SME on the AV Working Group

Ms. Cathie Curtis

More speakers are set to be announced very shortly.

Places for the event are strictly limited. If you wish to attend, you must register online. Click here to register.

Share this story:

About Author


Tom has edited Traffic Technology International (TTi) magazine and its Traffic Technology Today website since May 2014. During his time at the title, he has interviewed some of the top transportation chiefs at public agencies around the world as well as CEOs of leading multinationals and ground-breaking start-ups. Tom's earlier career saw him working on some the UK's leading consumer magazine titles. He has a law degree from the London School of Economics (LSE).